With walkers, rafters, farmers and fishing folk, we journey the alpine to spring rivers of Canterbury. Exploring above and below the surfaces, uncovering ways through our current freshwater crisis.

In Seven Rivers Walking / Haere Maaririe, filmmakers Gaylene Barnes and Kathleen Gallagher travel alongside seventy kaitiaki – fishermen, local iwi, farmers, artists, rafters, scientists, trampers – as they walk, raft and cycle seven of Canterbury's rivers over seven weeks to Easter 2017. Rivers are whole living eco-systems - we see fish, birds, drylands and wetlands. Many are surviving only in pockets. The city and braided rivers of Canterbury are in crisis-mode, most so damaged people can no longer safely swim in them. We hear from local folk who understand our rivers intimately - the kaitiaki, the river guardians of Canterbury. They reveal the braided story of the Canterbury rivers and come up with coherent solutions that respect biodiversity and restore the rivers.

SCREENINGS

WORLD PREMIERE Christchurch - Saturday 19th August 5.45pm Lady Issac Theatre Royal NZIFF

Wellington: Launch - Sunday 20th August 5.00pm Paramount Cinema

Nelson: Launch - Monday 21st August 7.45pm Suter State Cinema NZIFF

Takaka: Launch - Tuesday 22nd August 7.30pm Takaka Village Cinema

Christchurch Alices Cinematheque - Season from Thursday 24th August

Christchurch Deluxe Cinemas The Tannery - Season from Thursday 24th August

Wellington Lighthouse Petone - Season from Thursday 24th August

Timaru: Launch - Sunday 27th August 12.30pm Movie Max Cinemas NZIFF

Ashburton: Launch - Sunday 27th August 4.00pm Ashburton Regent Cinemas NZIFF

Rangiora: Launch - Sunday 27th August 6.00pm Town Hall Cinemas

Matakana: Launch - Tuesday 29th August 6.15pm Matakana Cinema

Auckland: Launch - Thursday 31st August 7.30pm Event Cinemas Queen St Aotea Square

Auckland: Auckland Rialto Newmarket - Season from 8.45pm Thursday 31st August

Hokitika: Launch - 7.00pm Monday 4th September Hokitika Regent

Dunedin: Launch - 6.30pm Thursday 7th September Dunedin Rialto

Gore: Launch - 6.00pm Friday 8th September St James Theatre Gore

Wanaka: Launch - 6.00pm Saturday 9th September Wanaka Pardiso

Geraldine: Launch - 5.00pm Sunday 10 September Geraldine Cinema


Copyright 2012 WickCandle Film